Phuthuma Nhleko

Independent Non-Executive Director

Joined the Board of Directors of IHS Holding Limited as a Non-Executive Independent Director in October 2021. Mr. Nhleko previously served as Chief Executive of MTN Group from 2002 to 2011 and continued to serve as Non-Executive Director and Chair of the MTN Group board from 2013 to 2019. Mr. Nhleko is currently Chairman of the Phembani Group (PTY) Ltd, a position he has held since 2011. He also currently serves as Chairman of Tullow Oil Plc and of the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, or the JSE. Mr. Nhleko also serves as a director of Engen, TBWA South Africa, and Phembani Remgro Infrastructure Fund Managers.

Previously, he served on the boards of BP plc from 2011 to 2016 and Anglo American from 2011 to 2015. In addition, during his tenure as MTN Group CEO, he was a non-executive director at the GSM Association, the global trade association for mobile phone operators. Prior to joining MTN Group, Mr. Nhleko served as a director of Nedbank Group Limited and Old Mutual Life (SA).

Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We’d also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won’t set optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Cookie policy

Analytics cookies

We’d like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone.